The Lincoln University Leads NAFEO delegation of more than 14 HBCUs and PBIs


LINCOLN UNIVERSITY, PA – The Lincoln University President Dr. Robert Jennings and a contingent of more than 40 Lincoln students will lead a delegation of at least 14 Historically Black Colleges & Universities (HBCUs) and Predominantly Black Institutions (PBIs) in calling for affordable college education, Saturday at the 50th anniversary of the historic March on Washington.

Dr. Jennings was the first and only university president to respond to an Aug. 2 letter from National Association For Equal Opportunity In Higher Education (NAFEO) President and CEO Lezli Baskerville, Esq., that urged both the leadership and student body of several HBCUs and PBIs to participate in a call for a “comprehensive and equitable financial aid system that will make postsecondary education affordable and accessible.”

“In many ways, the civil rights movement was a youth movement, an HBCU student- propelled movement, and HBCU students, faculty, staff and administrators played a central role,” Bakersville wrote.  “NAFEO wants to ensure that at this year’s 50th Anniversary March on Washington for “Freedom, Jobs, Peace and Social Justice,” HBCU and PBI students and the HBCU and PBI communities will be front and center, marching for affordable higher education.”

Recent changes associated with Parent Plus loans and Pell Grants have had a disproportionately negative impact on students, particularly those at HBCUs, which are causing many to forgo or discontinue their education.

“History has taught that a movement without young people yields no movement at all,” said Dr.  Jennings.  “As many as 10,000 students nationwide are facing the grim reality of being locked out of pursuing a college education for the Fall 2013 academic year.  The time for our young people to be heard is now.”

Lincoln, which is the nation’s first degree-granting HBCU, will be joined by NAFEO confirmed contingents from South Carolina State University, Cheyney State University, Florida Memorial University, Jarvis Christian College, University of the District of Columbia, Claflin University, Morgan State University, Howard University, Bowie State University and Saint Augustine University.

Students from Albany State University, Fort Valley State University, Columbus State University and Savannah State University are also expected to participate.

The Lincoln-led NAFEO delegation will gather at 7 a.m. in front of the National Education Association (NEA) located at 1201 16th St. NW. and march to the Lincoln Memorial for the official program.

The Lincoln University, founded in 1854 as the nation’s first degree-granting Historically Black College and University (HBCU), combines the elements of a liberal arts and science-based undergraduate curriculum along with select graduate programs to meet the needs of those living in a highly-technological and global society.  Today, the University enrolls a diverse student body of approximately 2,000 men and women.  Internationally recognized for preparing and producing world class leaders such as Thurgood Marshall, the first African American U.S. Supreme Court Justice, Lillian Fishburne, the first African American woman promoted to Rear Admiral in the U.S. Navy, Langston Hughes, the noted poet, Kwame Nkrumah, the first President of Ghana and Nnamdi Azikiwe, the first President of Nigeria. 

# # #



This entry was posted in All University. Bookmark the permalink.