International English Honor Society Inducts Nine Lincoln University Students

Lincoln University’s chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, an international English honor society, inducted nine new members last week.

Grace Chikwem, Khadeem Hughson, Nickala Epps, Ryan Michael Bell, Noni Lindsay Fernandez, Lafeesah Janet Waalee, Cecelia T. Blamah-Sah, Charnice Jones and Evanna S. Donaldson all join the society, which recognizes student-scholars for high achievement in English language, writing and literature.

“Sigma Tau Delta is more than just an English Honor Society here at Lincoln,” said Shakeerah Plummer, a graduating senior majoring in English Liberal Arts and a 2011-2012 honor society inductee, who spoke at the ceremony.  “It’s a group of young, talented and motivated students.  To be honest, I have gained lifelong friendships.”

Founded by Professor Judson Q. Owen in 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan University in Mitchell, South Dakota.  Sigma Tau Delta (STD) was established upon the principles of sincerity, truth and design.  Hence, the society’s name was chosen to represent the first letter of each of these three words.  The central purpose of the society is to confer distinction upon outstanding students of the English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate and professional studies.

Since its 2008 inauguration at Lincoln, the chapter has seen its membership increase dramatically from three to more than 21 members.

“We are very proud of our Spring 2013 Sigma Tau Delta inductees,” said English Department Chair Dr. Marilyn Button. “We challenge our students to a high standard of academic performance and integrity. Their inductions are a well deserved honor.”


Lincoln University of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, founded in 1854 as the nation’s first degree-granting Historically Black College and University (HBCU), combines the elements of a liberal arts and science-based undergraduate curriculum along with select graduate programs to meet the needs of those living in a highly-technological and global society.  Today, the University enrolls a diverse student body of approximately 2,000 men and women.  Internationally recognized for preparing and producing world class leaders such as Thurgood Marshall, the first African American U.S. Supreme Court Justice, Lillian Fishburne, the first African American woman promoted to Rear Admiral in the U.S. Navy, Langston Hughes, the noted poet, Kwame Nkrumah, the first President of Ghana and Nnamdi Azikiwe, the first President of Nigeria. 

# # #

This entry was posted in All University. Bookmark the permalink.