MEDIA ADVISORY: Lincoln University Honors Early Women Pioneer Graduates & Former Trustees

LINCOLN UNIVERSITY, PA – Lincoln University, the nation’s first Historically African American degree-granting institution will honor its first female graduates and female former Board of Trustee members during its Homecoming’s “2nd Annual Women of Lincoln University” reception at 11 a.m. on Saturday, Oct. 27th at the International Cultural Center.  While Lincoln, formerly Ashmun Institute, was founded as an all-male institution, it began admitting its first female students in the early 1950s.  The Institution did, however, have a prior practice of allowing professors’ wives to attend.


Lincoln’s first African American female graduate, Gladys W. Walls ’55;  Sondra E. Draper ’64 and Carol A. Black, Esq. ’67; former female Board of Trustees Dolores Coleman Kirby ’72 (BOT 1987-1995), Dr. Sharlene V. Roberson ’80 (BOT 1994-2003) and Dr. Adrienne Gray Rhone ’76 (BOT 1995-2003), also the Trustee Chair from 1999-2003. Other female graduates from 1955-68, will be recognized, but not speaking.


Saturday, October 27, 2012


11 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.


Lincoln University of PA, International Cultural Center


Eric Christopher Webb

(484) 365-7451 (ofc.) / (484) 667-1315 (mobile)



Lincoln University of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, founded in 1854 as the nation’s first historically Black degree-granting institution, combines the elements of a liberal arts and science-based undergraduate curriculum along with select graduate programs to meet the needs of those living in a highly-technological and global society.  Today, the University enrolls a diverse student body of approximately 2,000 men and women.  Internationally recognized for preparing and producing world class leaders such as Thurgood Marshall, the first U.S. Supreme Court Justice, Lillian Fishburne, the first African American woman promoted to Rear Admiral in the U.S. Navy, Langston Hughes, the noted poet, Kwame Nkrumah, the first President of Ghana and Nnamdi Azikiwe, the first President of Nigeria.


This entry was posted in LU Media. Bookmark the permalink.