MEDIA ADVISORY: The NU Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. Kicks Off Centennial With Black Tie Gala & Thurgood Marshall Monument Groundbreaking At Lincoln University of PA

Presidents of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. and Lincoln University of PA to participate


The NU Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Lincoln University of PA’s chapter of the nation’s oldest Black fraternity for college men, kicks off its year-long centennial celebration with its black-tie Centennial Gala: “A Tribute to Thurgood and Brother Logan” and its Thurgood Marshall Monument groundbreaking ceremony during the university’s homecoming weekend, Friday, October 26 through Saturday, October 27.  The chapter, officially founded on November 22, 1912 – six years after the founding of the entire fraternity, was established by 14 students, known as the “Fourteen Immortals.”  They are: Claiborn Morris Cain, Clarence Layton Aiken, Henry Ellwood Bouden, Henry Casheen Collins, Authur Lewis “Tex” Frazier, Clinton Virgil Freeman, Frank Goss, John Benjamin Issacs, Francis T. Jamison, William B. Jamison, Walter FitzPatrick Jerrick, Franklin Augustus Myers, Wesley Cornelius Redd and William Joseph Townsend.  Prominent Nu Chapter members include: first African American Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall, Paul Robeson, legendary American singer, actor and political activist, Robert L. Carter, noted Civil Rights lawyer, New York State Supreme Court Justice Bruce M. Wright, Horace Greely Dawson, Jr., diplomat and former U.S. ambassador, Diplomat Franklin Williams and California politician Herb J. Wesson.



Acting General President of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.,  Lincoln University of PA President,  Alpha East Region Vice President, NU Chapter Brothers of the Decade Honorees, Centennial Committee Chairmen; Alumni and College Brothers of NU;  General Public;



Friday, October 26, 2012         –          Centennial Black Tie Gala;

Saturday, October 27, 2012     –          Thurgood Marshall Monument Groundbreaking;


Black Tie Gala begins at 7 p.m.;

Groundbreaking ceremony begins at 11 a.m.;



Lincoln University of PA, International Cultural Center         –          Gala

Campus lawn, between The Ware Center and Houston Hall    –          Groundbreaking



Eric Christopher Webb

(484) 365-7451/ (443) 740-6899


Lincoln University of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, founded in 1854 as the nation’s first historically Black degree-granting institution, combines the elements of a liberal arts and science-based undergraduate curriculum along with select graduate programs to meet the needs of those living in a highly-technological and global society.  Today, the University enrolls a diverse student body of approximately 2,000 men and women.  Internationally recognized for preparing and producing world class leaders such as Thurgood Marshall, the first U.S. Supreme Court Justice, Lillian Fishburne, the first African American woman promoted to Rear Admiral in the U.S. Navy, Langston Hughes, the noted poet, Kwame Nkrumah, the first President of Ghana and Nnamdi Azikiwe, the first President of Nigeria.

This entry was posted in All University. Bookmark the permalink.